The Lake House

Last night I watched this movie with my date.  What a great movie!!!  What a terrible movie for me to watch.  It was horribly romantic – which I love… but I probably shouldn’t have seen it.
 
The story was all about love that conquers all odds.  My favourite kind of movie.  My heart believes that love can conquer all.  It believes that if you have found the one then the two of you will be able to overcome all and remain deeply and truly in love for the rest of your lives.
 
Except that isn’t the reality that I have found myself in.  I haven’t yet gotten the guy.  I am not even sure why at times.  3 out of the 4 guys ended up not falling in love with me.  I dont know why they couldn’t love me.  At least one said I was an amazing woman. The fourth said he loved me but I always ended up last in his life.   I don’t understand this love thing.  Is it like the movies?  Is it something different than I haven’t figured out?  Or is it not about love but simply about finding the best partner we can and trying to find happiness with them?
 
At any rate… it has left me sad within my soul.
2 responses to “The Lake House

  1. My take on love, at least the long term, functional relationship variety, is that it is 1/2 practicality and 1/2 whimsey.  Your mate has to share enough of the same views that you can have conversations (not just debates), be different enough to retain individuality, be heading in the same direction as far as dreams, goals, and ethics/morals, and yet still retain that spark – to exist together, to address the thousands of mundane details in the day-to-day and yet find eachother exciting at "night" (*ahem*).  To be able to accept and even appreciate the other’s quirks and to always remain respectful and loyal towards them. 
    I have just stopped and thought about the sucessful relationships I have been lucky enough to witness and all of them  have that 50/50 of practical and romantic, objective and subjective. 
     
    A tender, loving, respectful and functional relationship is a wonderful thing to see.  Very heart warming and encouraging.
     
    HUGS  -Jen

  2. I can’t bring myself to watch this movie. It looks too heartrendering. Sending many hugs to you!
     
    ~ Fat Chick

Leave a Reply

