Loving in two languages

Hello readers,
 
Does anyone have any experience with relationships in which the couple speaks two different languages? 
 
Eduardo seems to basically understand me but my skills in Spanish are not as good as his.  In fact, my language skills were hard won so I am not expecting to see sudden gains in my comprehension of Eduardo.  I honestly think I understand him reasonably well but he disagrees.  Perhaps, I only understand the simple things and Eduardo wants to talk about more complicated things.  Apparently, this is causing him no end of frustration that he can’t speak to me about everything that is in his heart and on his mind.
 
Last night I asked him if he wanted to end the relationship.  He took forever to answer the question and my heart dropped to my toes while I was waiting for him to answer.  I don’t want him to end the relationship because of this.  But I don’t know how to resolve this problem except through giving it time.  Maybe I don’t have the kind of time that I need. 
 
He says that he does not want to give up a good woman simply because of a problem with language which can be resolved with time.  But on the other hand… how many people do you know who are willing to work hard at a relationship?  especially a relationship that is just starting out.
 
2 responses to “Loving in two languages

  1. Hi there!  Looks like I’ve missed out on a great deal in your life…congrats on the new relationship…and cats??? 
     
    Hope all is well with you…
     
    -rey

  2. I think it’s a good sign that Eduardo is willing to continue with the relationship. I wish the best for the both of you.
    Hugs,~ FC

Leave a Reply

