A long overdue update

I know it has been forever since I have updated this blog. 

The week before Christmas, I was in a frenzy trying to get ready for my parents to come for Christmas.  I didn’t manage to get everything done but I got close enough.  Sadly, I did not have my house cleaned by the time they arrived.  I received some ribbing for that.  The primary reason for this was that Eduardo was really upset that entire day and I couldn’t get him out of his funk.  He just wouldn’t help me get the house cleaned although he knew that I was counting on him to help me.  We ended up cleaning up some bits after they arrived and then did a more thorough cleaning after they left.  I know… a little late!

Christmas Eve, Enrique called to wish me a Merry Christmas.  Am I cursed or what?  It seems like all major events in my life have had some kind of cloud associated with them ever since Eduardo and I have been dating.  All I said into the phone was “Please don’t call here again.” and hung up.  I burst into tears immediately because I knew Eduardo would be upset.  Mom knew right away who it was and spoke to Eduardo.  He wasn’t upset like he usually was and got over it by the time we went to bed.  It still cast a pall over my Christmas Eve.

Christmas morning, we opened presents and had breakfast.  Although Eduardo says he is a really bad gift giver, I liked all of his gifts.  Most of them were his idea although he did give me a couple of my suggestions.  He seemed to like all of his gifts and especially liked his blue dress shirt and matching tie.  That was definitely a coup as he is a VERY VERY picky tie person.  The early afternoon, we relaxed until we had to start getting ready for supper.  We had invited friends of Eduardo’s over to share Christmas dinner with us.  Eduardo didn’t help me very much with supper, Mom did instead.  I felt really bad as I expected Eduardo to help me and did not want my Mom to help as she was more of a guest than anything.  The dinner went off very well.   Everybody seemed to enjoy each others company, the food turned out and dinner was basically on-time!!  As always, there are a lot of things to do at the last minute.

We spent a night in Baltimore so that we could go to the Aquarium and check out the inner harbour.  Eduardo enjoyed the aquarium a lot.  They had a really nice frog exhibit which we enjoyed a lot.  Even for a week day it got insanely crowded which started to fray my nerves.  I guess I should be glad that we didn’t go on a week-end!

For New Year’s Eve, we went out to friends of Eduardo’s.  We had a pretty good time although I think I would have liked to have gone to bed a little earlier.  We didn’t get to bed until almost 6am.  It is a Peruvian tradition to stay out all night until morning light.  Luckily, we managed to get into bed before daybreak or I might not have slept at all.  He ended up getting up after a couple of hours because he couldn’t sleep and felt sick.  The food and the beer apparently didn’t mix well together and the toilet and him got rather intimate in the morning.  I had like 1 beer all night.  I just wasn’t that interested in drinking for some reason.  Unfortunately, someone drank my water that I brought so I still ended up being a little dehydrated.  New Year’s Eve also has a bit of a cloud associated with it although I won’t go into the details.  I just don’t understand why every major event has to have something bad associated with it.  Will my wedding also be like this??

And today… back at work!

2 responses to “A long overdue update

  1. Happy New Year!  Yep.  Enough holiday, back to the grind stone.
     
    Billie, I don’t want to overstep my boundaries, and you can tell me to f**** off if need be, but as a concerned "friend", I wanted to ask you:  are you 100% sure you want to marry Eduardo?  I’m not saying that you do’nt have good times:  I’m just saying that what YOU want and what HE seems to want just don’t coincide adn I’m afraid that you may look back and have lost your identity to a man…I could be TOTALLY off base on that one:  I am just approaching it like I would any friend…the rest of your life…you don’t change a man…you get what you see now…
     
    off soap box.   just very concerned about you.
     
    i am glad you had a great new year. 
     
    hope I didn’t offend. 
     
    ~rey

  2. Billie:  I have been reading your blog since about the time you bought your condo….have lived through your ups and downs with you.  Your recent entries have compelled me to sign up for a spaces account so that I can post a comment. 
    I have no doubt that you have strong feelings for Eduardo; however, it seems like you feel a need to tiptoe around him lest he become angry over things you cannot possibly control  — a phone call from Enrique, a co-worker assuming he was Enrique. 
    While we can never truly know what goes on in other relationships, it does not appear from the outside that your relationship with Eduardo is a completely healthy one.  What I hope I am conveying is that there seems to be room for improvement!  I hope that Eduardo is working on his control/anger issues and that you can be happy with this man for a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

