The corner is turned

Last night, things appeared to have turned for the worse.  His gums were swollen and must have been puffed out a 1/4" and looked purple, white and red.  As my mom would say, it looked angry (ie infected).  His tooth hurt really bad and it hurt to touch his face on that side.  After looking at the swollen gums, I decided to call the endodontist that I had finally found.  I made an appt for today. 
 
This morning, I wake up Eduardo and he says to me.  Its better honey and its not swollen.  I don’t believe him so I have to look for myself.  A picture is worth a thousand words, right?  Indeed, the gums are simply red and not swollen at all.  He had almost no pain in either of his teeth.  He says to me, "Maybe John didn’t make a mistake?"  That would be a relief wouldn’t it?
 
We decided to cancel the endodontist appt because there appeared to no longer be an emergency.  We would monitor it over the weekend and make a decision next week.  I called him at break and he said that he is feeling better all the time.  Whew!  I think our root canal roller coaster ride is coming to an end.
 
I am hoping that he ends up with no pain in either tooth.  This might let us put off the retreatment of the root canal until next year and allow us to cover some of his other work under our insurance.  Next year, we could do the retreatment and protect it with a crown.  This would be ideal.  Sadly, ideal and reality are often two different things.
11 responses to “The corner is turned

  1.  Whew!! But go easy….he is over the hump. Keep pain meds on hand.
     
     Have a great weekend!!

  2. I’ve never had one..i’ve been threatened with one….but if I EVER have to have one (which I’m sure I will one day) I told them that they’ll have to knock me out completely.  I want to feel NOTHING, see NOTHING….and i better have the best narcotics ever afterwards.  I’m a baby when it comes to pain.  Glad he’s doing better, though. have a great weekend. ~rey

  3. I’ve never had one..i’ve been threatened with one….but if I EVER have to have one (which I’m sure I will one day) I told them that they’ll have to knock me out completely.  I want to feel NOTHING, see NOTHING….and i better have the best narcotics ever afterwards.  I’m a baby when it comes to pain.  Glad he’s doing better, though. have a great weekend. ~rey

  4. I’ve never had one..i’ve been threatened with one….but if I EVER have to have one (which I’m sure I will one day) I told them that they’ll have to knock me out completely.  I want to feel NOTHING, see NOTHING….and i better have the best narcotics ever afterwards.  I’m a baby when it comes to pain.  Glad he’s doing better, though. have a great weekend. ~rey

  5. I’ve never had one..i’ve been threatened with one….but if I EVER have to have one (which I’m sure I will one day) I told them that they’ll have to knock me out completely.  I want to feel NOTHING, see NOTHING….and i better have the best narcotics ever afterwards.  I’m a baby when it comes to pain.  Glad he’s doing better, though. have a great weekend. ~rey

  6. The whole saga sounds terribly painful!! This from a woman who is paying $100/month for a root canal of my very own. Ugh. (I don’t have dental insurance.)
     
    Kathy Bates? I know you meant to make me feel better but she’s not exactly a movie star I would want to be twinkies with! Hahahha. Good actress, though!

  7. That sounds awful!! I hope he really is doing better! Is he on antibiotics? If so, remember to take the whole course of them and not to stop early because it feels better!!! 😉
     
    Katie

  8. That poor man!  Shawn has had to have a lot of dental work in 2006 and already in 2007.  I wish that dental insurance covered more like medical insurance does.  Dental work costs a fortune!
     
    I am glad to hear that he is feeling better now, I hope he continues to improve and that the rest of the work can go as planned.
     
    HUGS -Jen

  9. Fred and Maris

    Hi, there!  Sorry to hear about the root canal issues.  That does NOT sound like fun for either of you!
     
    Thanks for your kind words regarding Hunter… I needed some positive thinking, and you were just what the doctor ordered!
     
    Cheers,
     
    Maris

  10. I sure hope that he is feeling better…..  btw… do you have any pictures of your wedding day?  I really wanted to see the B&B…

  11. Hope you’re doing well.  have a great weekend. ~rey

Leave a Reply

