New Bedtime Routine

I feel like I child as I announce that I have a new bedtime routine.
 
I worry a lot.  At times, I can’t even describe how much I worry because it is simply insane.  Lately, I have found myself under an immense amount of stress that I can’t even understand.  I can’t put my finger on exactly what is stressing me.  I can identify some stressors but none of these stressors seem to account for the continuing pressure that I feel.   I get under a lot of stress and I forget things.  This naturally leads to more stress and worry because I then start to worry about forgetting things.  Yesterday, I went to go rug hooking at my lunch.  I forgot a necessary thing to do my rug hooking.  When I walked into the room, I announced, "You are not going to believe this but I forgot to bring X".  What is even worse is that I can no longer remember the name of what I forgot to bring.  I tried to tell Eduardo that I had forgotten it but when I got to that part of the story, I realized that I no longer remembered the name of the tool.  I still don’t remember it and its freaking me out. 
 
Over the weekend, Eduardo and I got to talking about how difficult it is for me to fall asleep and stay asleep.  We can blame some of it on the cats but not all of it.  He said I worry too much and I need to drain the worry from my brain.  Easier said than done, I assure you.  So… we started a new bedtime routine to help me.
 
The first thing we do is prepare everything we can for our lunch the next day and put it on the counter.  We can’t prepare everything because some things need to stay in the fridge.  Then we get our workout clothes ready.  Lastly, we lay down in bed and do this prayer.  It involves saying a written prayer out loud, doing some silent prayer, verbal prayer and then listing 3 things we are grateful for.  This has been very relaxing to me and I have been able to fall asleep much faster this week. 
 
 
One response to “New Bedtime Routine

  1. I, too, have emmense trouble falling and staying asleep.  I tend to read before I go to be:  not homework read, but relaxing, interesting reads…that seems to help me FALL asleep…staying asleep is difficult.
     
    Glad your remedy for sleeplessness seems to be working.  Have a GREAT weekend. ~Rey

Leave a Reply

