Senor Campos

Almost every week for the last 4 years, I have been visiting a gentleman that is homebound.  He lives in a small apartment in a senior citizen home close to where I live.  I was matched up with him through a volunteer agency that provides companions to elderly people that can not easily get outside of their home.  I indicated during the interview that I only wanted to get matched up with someone who spoke Spanish.  I wanted to practise my Spanish while I volunteered.  When I was in Canada, I did the same type of volunteer work and enjoyed it so I thought I would try it again.
 
Lately, it has been difficult to visit him.  For some strange reason, I seem to have nothing to say.   I don’t know if it is because my life is so boring that I don’t have anything to talk about or just that I can’t think in Spanish so it is difficult to move from one topic or another or what the problem is.   Or maybe it is just because my life is zooming by so fast that I find it hard to carve out time to visit him.  It shouldn’t be hard to carve out time to see him and I feel guilty sometimes when this feels like a chore more than like something fun.  On Wednesday, I was thinking that exact thought.  That is was feeling like a chore and I wish I didn’t have to visit.  Not that I wanted to wish any ill-will on him at all.  It was more like I wished that I got a call that went something like this… "Lo siento.   no estoy libre esta noche porque mi hija esta aqui".  In other words, he had company or was going out.    I certainly wasnt expecting a phone call from his daughter saying, "Im sorry, my father is in the hospital so you can’t visit tonight."  They don’t know what is wrong with him but apparently he fainted in his apartment.  They think he might have had a stroke.  I asked to be kept updated but she hasn’t called again.  I will probably call tomorrow and see what is up.  If he is still in the hospital then I would like to visit on Sunday.
 
 
5 responses to “Senor Campos

  1. How wonderful for you to volunteer to do this!  Naturally, any obligation that you have will feel like a chore from time to time.  What matters most is that you honestly care about his well being and that you do your best to visit him as you can.
     
    I wish him a speedy recovery!  If I could remember any spanish from my high school classes, I would have typed it in Spanish, but alas, my brain is mush!
     
    HUGS, Jen

  2. I hope he gets well soon. ((Hug))
    ~ FC

  3. Your little cat looks exactly like mine.  We call her kitty hilton cause she is so damn spoiled.
     
    g.j.

  4. Thank you for the birthday wishes.
    ~ FC

  5. How is your friend doing?
    ~ FC

Leave a Reply

