My step-daughter

I have to admit that my step-daughter is becoming the joy of my life.  I realize that I am her surrogate mother and will never be her real mother… nor do I wish to replace Kelly in that role… but being a surrogate part-time mom is a really amazing thing.  With her actions and words, she does a wonderful job of making me feel like I am part of her family. 

I never realized how important it was for me to integrate and be a meaningful part of this blended family but I am certainly realizing it now.  Nothing upsets me faster than to have Eduardo say or do something that makes me feel excluded.  I know that some of the things he says or does is not meant to exclude me but when it makes me feel excluded anyways it is very painful.  I think I need to be less sensitive to the things he says or does but it is difficult.  Some water has already gone under the bridge and unfortunately, water doesn’t flow backwards.   But when she does something that tells me that she needs me in addition to her mother and father,  I am suddenly content and happy in my role in the family.   It doesn’t even have to be a very big action; just her asking me to snuggle with her when she is sick is satisfying.

2 responses to “My step-daughter

  1. Hey,
    Thank you for clearing that up…….It didn’t make sense at the time but I overlooked it.
    I enjoyed reading about your experience as a step mum…..I am a step father to two kids….well they are adults now but I have been in their lives for over 10 years……..unfortuntely my experience has not been so good with them. Yours sounds good and developing and I do hope it does….blended families can be difficult at times and I know I made mistakes and could have dealt with certain situations a little better……
    Anyhoo….must fly
    Take care

  2. Thank you so much for coming by my space.  I see you’ve been blogging for quite a while.  I too am trying to cut back on expenses.  It’s so hard!  With gas costing a fortune, it seems like everything is a little more expensive.  We’re having red beans and rice tonight for dinner.
     
    KM

Leave a Reply

