Step-kids – perhaps my perfect family

For the longest time,  I never wanted kids.  Then I wanted kids for a couple of years and now I am on the fence.  At this point in my life,  the decision has likely already been made for me as my biological clock has probably stopped ticking.   I am back on the fence because of my step-children.  And no… they are not terrible kids although a good percentage of the time I would like to clock Piero.   He can be a very disrespectful child and ended up in time-out twice on Friday for telling me to shut-up.   He almost made it to timeout a third time for generally being disrespectful.  It is moments like that when I am glad that the kids get picked up by their mother at the end of the night.  But when Piero is not busy being a pain in the ass he is very friendly and talkative and generally a good kid.   I generally enjoy spending time with the kids and am doing things that I thought I would never do like share my fork with Kylie while she eats off my plate at the church lunch.   She likes to curl up with me and I like to hold her in her quiet moments. 

I guess after 40 years of living without kids,  I am happy to have time to myself without having to worry about what the kids are doing or supervising them.  A luxury that full-time parents are not afforded.   I suppose what I am saying is that perhaps I have ended up with my perfect family.  I have the opportunity to enjoy being with and helping raise children but at the end of the day,  I don’t have to give up my personal space either. 

2 responses to “Step-kids – perhaps my perfect family

  1. enjoy them…they will bring you plesures you could not imagine…
    *~*   :o) if you don’t have a smile to give today…  :o) I will give you one of mine…  :o)   *~*

  2. If had to do it over…I woulda just had cats and dogs!!
     
    All kiddin’ aside. Enjoy them. I don’t think a person has to hatch one of their own to enjoy the child experience. And I think you are right….perfect for you and for all involved.
     

Leave a Reply

