Wow!

Sunday was such a nice day that I decided to walk to the gym to work-out.  Generally, we walk to the gym through a little park which the gym backs onto.  On the way home from the gym,  I heard this really weird bird call and some sounds above me.  I decided to look up into the tree to see what kind of bird was there.  And there was the bird… right above me on the tree.  It was a pileated woodpecker (not that I knew that at the time but I do now thanks to Google).  I decided to watch it because I had never seen such a bird.  The bird was obviously looking for food and started to hop down the tree… that’s right… down the tree… He kept hopping and hopping down the tree until eventually he was at the height of my head then my waist then he decided that the dead tree trunk at the foot of the tree might very well have some yummy critters in it.  He hopped onto the tree trunk and pecked at until he tore off the bark to get the critters beneath.  He did this several times before he flew away.  This bird was not more than 10 or 15 feet away from me while he was on the ground.  It was absolutely incredible.

In case you are interested and want more information:  Pileated Woodpecker

4 responses to “Wow!

  1. We have a couple. And they are rude!!
    They kick other birds outta the nest that they have worked so hard to create and take over.
     
    Wellll….one day Roy walked out the back door and heard this God Awful scream!! He came and got me…we both listen for it as now it had stopped. It was like a little girl squeal…I heard it!! And with my great trackin’ ability….did I ever tell you I was an Indian?? I spotted that dumb old PeckerHead tryin’ to squeeze his big ole body outta a tiny hole…..Maybe too much eatin’ and not enough peckin’??

  2. very nice looking bird…
    *~* :o) the shortest distance between two people is a smile… :o) *~*

  3. Nice sighting.
    We had then at our old place on Dale Rd. We used to watch them in the old willow’s behind the house. I always thought you had seen them as well.

  4. Hey
    That’s a funny looking bird isn’t it……? I still don’t get the point of a wood pecker in the grand scheme of things.
    Although my blog is not directly about immigration I understand what you are saying. You may well be immigrants yourself but you are decent, law abiding and tax paying citizens in your new home…..which for me is fine, perfectly acceptable and as tax payers, you should be entitled to public services. My issues, especially where my tax pounds are concerned is when they are being used to support illegal immigrants and those who come to the UK simply for the free health care, education, housing and benefits and have absolutely no intentions of paying it back……and we are talking about millions of people. I hurts me so much to know that while I toil away week after week in the office to try and provide a decent quality of life for my family……my tax pounds are supplementing a similar lifestyle for immigrants without no contribution from themselves……it genuinely sickens me, it is wrong and that is why I want a choice.
     
    Otherwise I trust you and your family are well
    Regards
    Pete  X
     
     

Leave a Reply

