The week in update

This has been a very busy and good week for us.

Eduardo has been trying to get a job as an electrician’s helper in an effort to start on the path of becoming an electrician.  This has been a tough nut to crack as everybody is telling him he needs experience to get a job.  Obviously,  if you can’t get a job, you can’t get experience and you are shut out.  We decided to try a different route and he applied for an apprenticeship program through the Electrician’s Union.  I gather we set our sights high and he applied for the toughest program to get into.  He impressed one of the interviewers so much that he gave Eduardo his business card and told him he had a job for him.  We have since learned that Eduardo has scored very high in the interview but to get into this apprenticeship program you usually need… EXPERIENCE!!! ARGH!!!!  We are still awaiting the final decision.  This gentleman has told Eduardo to join another program in the union that is easier to get into although it doesn’t seem to end with getting your journeyman papers.  He will then call the union and ask specifically for Eduardo and he gets a job within that apprenticeship program.   The end result is that he gets a job as an electrician’s helper and if everything works out,  this gentleman will write a personal letter of recommendation to the union to help him get into the other program.  I know… all very complicated but we are grateful that someone has finally seen the potential in Eduardo and is willing to give him a chance.  And the good news is that if everything works out,  I should be able to drop a shift from my second job.  Yippee!

I have gone away for a number of years on Memorial Day weekend.  I asked for a day off from my part-time job so I could go away overnight and was denied – why?  because it is a sale date and they don’t give time off during sales… except that I know of several people that have taken time off during sale dates.  I am not happy and am desperately trying to find someone to take my shift.  Hopefully,  it will be a part-timer.  If it is a full-timer,  I will need to do a shift switch meaning I will be working 12 days in a row.  By the time Memorial Day rolls around,  I will be totally exhausted.  I switched with a girl this weekend and am starting to wish I hadn’t.  I didn’t realize that it would mean that I would be working 7 days in a row.  Not exactly on my list of things to do.

2 responses to “The week in update

  1.  
    You are strong woman and handle workin’ 7 days straight. I used to work 12 days straight…..and that’s what I kept tellin’ myself!
     
     
    Hugs! 

  2. Gosh, I’m tired and all I did was read your blog! Hang in there! You’re tough – you can do ANYTHING!

Leave a Reply

