My confession

At work yesterday,  we had our quarterly review for the company which involves being served (or rather serving ourselves) a continental breakfast.

I used tongs to pick up some slices of melon but then used my fingers to pick up two strawberries.  I then used tongs to pick up a pastry and then used my fingers to pick up a bagel.   Because you don’t know the context of how the food is served you probably can’t see the pattern.  If I could pick up something without touching anything else, I did use my fingers.  If I couldn’t pick it up without touching someone else,  I used my tongs.  After all,  who wants to eat the food after someone else touched it.  I saw the granola and was curious what it tasted like but didn’t want to actually take any.  Some of the granola is in large lumps that you can pick up without touching anything so I picked up one lump.  Somebody saw me pick it up and told me how totally nasty it was that I would do something like that when a spoon was right there.  I responded back that I didn’t dig around in it,  I simply picked up this lump without touching anything else.  He basically reiterated how nasty and gross I was being.  I was feeling pretty socially stupid at this point.  I have seen plenty of people use their fingers in my lifetime when there was no risk of touching anything else but I definitely won’t make this social faux pas again.  What really upset me is that this co-worker went into the main room and announced to other co-workers what I had done.  I felt totally humiliated.  Wasn’t it enough to yell at me in front of the people that were in the lunch room?  Did you really need to tell the whole company what I had done?

Something funny (or at least I thought it was funny) that was said to me was… "Why would you do this when you have kids?"  If anything… kids teach you an even higher level of tolerance to other people’s germs.  I can’t say that I ever imagined I would eat off of a spoon that another person had put their lips to and yet… we often share utensils. If you want to make the case that you should never touch food that others might eat, don’t bring their kids into the discussion.  They don’t help you make the case.

6 responses to “My confession

  1. Have you seen this site? People are confessing their sins online at http://iconfessmyself.blogspot.com

  2. Is this really so terrible that it is more than a social faux pas but an actual sin?  Do I really hang out with so many social rejects that they have no idea that what they are doing is an actual sin?

  3. This is not a big deal. I’ve seen people do this and I’ve done it myself. Especially when the tongs aren’t any good at what you’re trying to get. As long as you didn’t touch any of the surrounding items (just your own), I don’t think it’s a big deal. Don’t let it bother you. I think your co-worker was competely out of line humiliating you like that though.
    Hugs,~ FC

  4. I’m totally okay with it! If you didn’t touch anything but your own…go for it!!

  5. Jen’s evil twin typing here:
     
    Accidently let it slip that he made such a big production out of it because of his own guilt… after all, he was spied PICKING HIS NOSE before he dug into the buffet!
     
    What an a-hole.  You did NOTHING wrong.  He was a total butt head to try to humiliate you over something so insignificant, and I PROMISE you that no one thinks less of YOU.  Everyone’s done it, so how could they?  I can also promise you that they do all think less of HIM for being such a judgemental ASS.

  6. Hey Kid you know what I would have told him.
    Anyway who wants to pick up a set of tongs that everyone has spread their dirty little germs on. LOL

Leave a Reply

