Justice for all

I shall apologize in advance for not writing much.  I seriously don’t have much of a life these days outside of work.

But lets move on to the real topic – injustice.  I have a highly developed sense of justice.  When I perceive something as unjust – let’s be honest, especially when that injustice concerns me – I get pretty riled up.  And so today,  I am still riled up from something that happened yesterday.

Every year for the last 7 or 8 years,  I have gone away for Memorial Day.  Eduardo and I also thought we might like to go away for Memorial Day with the kids so I put in a request for a day off for the Saturday.  It was denied.  Why?  Because no requests for time off are allowed during sales unless you find someone to fill in for you.  I asked, begged,  I pleaded absolutely everyone in the store that didn’t already work Saturday if they would take on my shift.  I even offered to switch although that would have required me to work 12 consecutive days.  After talking to all but one person,  I finally found someone to take my shift.  Problem solved.  Naturally,  Kelly decided that she didn’t want to let us take the kids two hours away so we are actually going nowhere but that is a different issue.

So last night,  a co-worker asks me who I got to fill in for her.  She wanted to ask her if she could switch Saturday for Sunday.  She would work my Saturday shift if that person would take her Sunday shift.  I didn’t have her phone number so I suggested she talk to a manager who was personal friends with this other person.  I don’t know who she spoke to but the next thing that happens is that the co-worker comes back to me and says she doesn’t need to find someone to fill in for her.  She was told they had enough workers on the floor because all managers work on the sale weekends.  This was actually the same thing that was told to me when I asked if it was possible to get a sale weekend off and I was told I could.  

But apparently… only some people can take advantage of this sale scheduling and I am not one of them.  Next time,  I will just call in sick.  If you want to make everyone follow the same rules then I will give you the courtesy of following those rules.  But if only some of us have to be inconvenienced with the rules then I don’t have a problem if that inconvenience falls on you.

One response to “Justice for all

  1. lol…i would be pissed too…it’s too bad that you still didn’t have that shift…cause if i were you i would have called in blind…and i would have mentioned that meant i couldn’t see myself coming in…♥~♥ :oD the shortest distance between two people is a smile… :oD ♥~♥

Leave a Reply

