Business Trip in San Diego

I have been quiet for a week because I was in San Diego for a week on business.  As I suspected, the business didn’t take very long and my presence wasn’t exactly critical from a technical sense.  What was critical was that the integrator and the customer thought that we cared because a representative from my company came.  This is not to say that we don’t care.  It just means that I was there as a showcase rather than because my technical expertise was really needed.  The integrator was more than competent enough to do the work on his own.  The good news is that after having a long distance business relationship with the technical representative from the integrator for 4 years,  I was able to meet him in person.  This was nice because over the phone the gentleman can be less than friendly so I got to see a totally different side of him.  He really is a friendly kinda guy even if he comes off otherwise in our business relationship.

So… we didn’t have a lot of work to do.  Most of the work was waiting to see if our changes worked or not.  Tuesday,  we worked almost a full day and because I was still jet-lagged from the trip,  I went to bed fairly early.  He drove me a bit around Balboa park and we hit the GasLamp District for supper.  Wednesday,  we did about half a day of work and for the few hours that were left,  we hit the Birch Aquarium in La Jolla.  It was a nice little aquarium – very small – but not too expensive as a result.  It was raining so we couldn’t appreciate all of the outdoor parts but nonetheless I can add it to my growing list of aquariums that I have visited.  Thursday was not much of a work day at all.  We did what changes we had to make in an hour and had the rest of the day free while we waited.  We headed to Cabrillo Monument to check out the monument, the store, the lighthouse and the tidal pools.  I was absolutely enthralled with the tidal pools and we took a million pictures of the little barnacles and crabs and such like that existed.  Unfortunately, it was high tide so we didn’t get the full experience but it was still amazing.  After that,  we checked the sites and they were still up so we headed to Coronado Island and saw the famed Hotel del Coronado.  We also walked the beach at the site and saw live clams.  It was very cool to watch them dig into the sand after a wave left them on the beach.  I also collected some beautiful shells.  After that,  we checked the sites again and since it was 6pm,  we called it a day… wow! rough work day that was…. I ended up with a wonderful sunburn from working so hard.  I had to take a red-eye back so I ended up sleeping most of Friday.  It is absolutely impossible to sleep in an airplane and I don’t know how people do it.

San Diego was one of the cleanest and nicest cities I have ever seen.  The climate was very nice… a breezy 70 degrees or so.  Wednesday was actually chilly because it was overcast.  What a contrast to the humid/hot weather I came back to.  This is definitely a place worth visiting and I daresay it looks like a nice place to live.

3 responses to “Business Trip in San Diego

  1. mayeb i will have to visit there someday! 
    ♥~♥ :oD the shortest distance between two people is a smile… :oD ♥~♥

  2. I would love to visit there some day. I’m glad you got a little bit of a break.~ FC

  3. What IS kerfuffle????

Leave a Reply

