This is 911. What is your emergency?

It came to my attention that we should probably be teaching Piero what 911 was all about and teach him things like his address so he could use it in an emergency.  The attention grabbing moment was reading a book on safety to Piero while we were waiting in the doctor’s office.  He now knows that if there is an emergency and his parent(s) are incapacitated that he should dial 911.  We taught him that the first thing he should say is… "I speak Spanish.  I need help"  Until his command of the English language gets better… it is probably best that he relay information in Spanish.  I hope that is the right decision.  We did a practise phone call on our cell phones were Eduardo dialed me and Piero was supposed to pretend that I was a 911 operator.  Unfortunately,  Piero didn’t understand that it was me and he thought he was calling the real thing.  I didn’t understand why his voice was so stressed when I asked him for his address and he didn’t know it.  Now I know… he thought it was for real.  He did find out at the end of the call that it was me.  Our next step is to teach him our addresses so he can guide the rescuers to our houses.

I have to say that he was a real champ on the phone and I am very proud of him.

3 responses to “This is 911. What is your emergency?

  1. What a great idea!!!

  2. you know i never thought of this…maybe i should mention that to my SIL and brother…not too sure my niece knows what to do…♥~♥ :oD because you shared a smile…someone’s day got brighter… :oD ♥~♥

  3. Oooh a practice call!  What a wonderful idea.  I’ve tried my best to teach Coco and Wes what numbers to push and they know their names and our names, but would they be able to tell someone on the phone in an emergency?  And I had really better get started teaching them their new address and phone number. 
     
    Thank you for posting this!  You never know, you may have just inspired the teaching that saves someone’s life! 
     
    Hugs, Jen

Leave a Reply

