What I did on my summer vacation…

We got to spend the entire long weekend and my mini vacation without air conditioning.  That was fun… NOT!

We spend the long weekend (such as it was for me) with the kids.  We started out with an outdoor movie on Saturday night.  Sunday we completely relaxed since neither of us had to work on Monday at our regular jobs.  That included spending several hours at the pool as they were closing the pool Sunday night.  We also felt no motivation to go back into the house because the house was HOT.  Little did we know that Sunday was our best day with respect to our lack of air conditioning.

I also took a mini-vacation on Tuesday and Wednesday.  My goal was to get some straightening out done in the record keeping department and get some other things done.  I got side tracked by a couple of items so I didn’t actually get everything done that I had hoped for.  The first order of business was to get Timmie to the vets and see what they thought about a small mass growing on her eye.  They are thinking the possibility of cancer and wanted to put her under for a biopsy.  They also wanted to clean her teeth and were concerned they might have to extract a tooth if we didn’t clean her teeth like right now.  They had a cancellation for Wednesday so I booked her.  Waiting for the pathology on the mass.  No tooth extractions were needed.  This required a second and third trip to the vet on Wednesday to drop her off and pick her up which was unexpected.  The second unanticipated thing was a sewing machine class that took 2 hours.  I finally (and unexpectedly) purchased a new sewing machine (from saving up my allowance) to replace my 25 year old Pfaff.  I got a really good deal at the place I work so I purchased it before I was planning on it.  I was originally going to purchase in October on our employee discount day.   I managed to perform one little bit of home repair,  I caulked around a couple of tiles that were losing their grout.

And what else did I do for my mini vacation?  I literally sat in front of our little shredder and fed it a diet of old paper.  I had tax returns and other records going back to 1992.  I shredded everything from 1992 to 2000.  I also shredded selected records like car insurance and car bills and medical insurance bills and so on for a number of years.  Everything took up close to a double sized bankers box.  At the moment, I have it down to about 2/3 of a bankers box and I now have 2 large garbage bags of shredded paper that I need to get rid of.

Doesn’t that sound like an exciting mini vacation?  Clearly, I need a life.

One response to “What I did on my summer vacation…

  1. It does feel good to get those little (and not so little) things out of the way. You should feel gratified that you were ablel to spare some time for those things. Silver lining, LOL.
    ~ FC

Leave a Reply

