Ditch those Disposables Challenge

Now that I have updated you on my Buy Nothing Challenge,  I am ready to move on to another challenge which actually will be challenging to me – Ditch those disposables.  The blogger has asked that we get rid of a single disposable for September and October.

You can make the switch from:

  • Paper napkins to cloth napkins – I might attempt this if I can get around to making some cloth napkins
  • Paper towels to cloth towels
  • Tissues to handkerchiefs
  • Paper, plastic or Styrofoam plates to your kitchen plates – we don’t use disposable plates
  • Inexpensive plastic “Take & Toss” sippy cups to Sigg, Camelbak or Kleen Kanteen – don’t use sippy cups in this house
  • Disposable water bottles to (again) reusable bottles like Sigg or Camelbak
  • Plastic sandwich bags to reusable containers/bags
  • Paper lunch bags to reusable containers/bags – we use reusable lunch bags already
  • Swiffers (or similar products) to a broom and dustpan or mop (or
    use reusable cloths like cloth diapers/terry inserts in your Swiffer)

  • Disposable dust rags to cloth rags
  • Disposable diapers to cloth diapers – don’t use diapers
  • Disposable wipes to cloth wipes (inexpensive plain washcloths work really well)
  • Disposable feminine products (tampons, pads) to reusables – not necessary for me
  • Grocery store bags to reusable bags – this is what I am going to focus on!

I have collected up the totes I already have from a variety of places.  I have 5 totes of which one of them is used for library books.  This leaves me with 4 totes to take to the grocery store.  I also have 2 totes on order.  The totes were free… I simply had to pay for shipping.  I also decided to take this one step further and get rid of those plastic produce bags.  I have – on order – 8 produce bags to use to bag up my fruit and vegetables.  I will try to keep track of how many plastic bags I have used for whatever reason and also keep track of the number of plastic bags I didn’t use by using the totes.  Let’s see what happens!  My biggest problem will be REMEMBERING those darned bags!

I don’t imagine that I will ever get hard core green but it doesn’t hurt to make little changes that impact me not at all yet contribute my little bit to not damaging the environment as much.

One response to “Ditch those Disposables Challenge

  1. I love my reusable totes for the grocery store.  I bought mine at the check out lane at the grocery store for 99 cents each.  They hold SO MUCH MORE than the plastic bags and they are much easier to carry (don’t dig into hands, etc.).  I have a hard time remembering them as well, I’m trying to get into the habit of keeping them in the car so that they are always with me. 
     
    Good luck on this challenge.  I might see if I can incorporate some of these suggestions as well.  🙂

Leave a Reply

