LUSH Shampoo bar

Yet another small stab at getting rid of plastics and reducing chemical use.  I admit that I am likely only going to do those things that a) don’t cost a lot and b) don’t require a bunch of effort.  Let’s face it,  I am already busy enough as it is.  Anything that takes gobs of time is simply going to fall by the wayside.  I have no idea how other people do all the things they are doing to reduce their carbon footprint.  But I suppose several small steps are better than no steps at all.

So… getting back to the title – LUSH Shampoo bar.  I have been reading about how you can clean your hair without using shampoo and conditioner.  Doing this gets rid of the chemicals that go down the drain and of course reduces one or more plastic bottles from your bathroom.  One choice is to clean it with a baking soda mixture and then rinse with a cider vinegar mixture.  I have to say… this sounds like a TON of work.  Another way that seems a whole lot easier is to buy a natural shampoo bar.  Most everything that people mentioned,  I couldn’t figure out how to source locally. 

I found a LUSH store a few miles away so I visited it on Friday.  They have all kinds of beauty/personal cleaning products that are chemical or close to chemical free and many of these products do not come in plastic bottles.  I checked out the soap and decided it was WAY too expensive for the amount of soap that Eduardo manages to go through.  I was a little leery of buying a shampoo bar for almost 10$ until the woman said that she bought one in May and STILL hadn’t finished using it.  Her hair was longer than mine so  I bought two thinking that 10$ for 5 or 6 months was a pretty good deal.  I bought one for me and one for Eduardo to try.  Let’s just say that I wouldn’t hold my breath waiting for Eduardo to try his.  I suspect that I will have to use it.  The one I bought was called Godiva and is a shampoo + conditioner bar.  It smells wonderful but Eduardo says my hair doesn’t smell like anything once it is dry.  I have pretty short hair so I just get my hair wet,  stroke the bar down the length of my hair 3 or 4 times and get a wonderful amount of lather.  I bought something called Squeaky Green for him.  If I have to use it,  I will probably have to supplement it with conditioner.  But that is ok… they also sell conditioner in a bar.  I kid you not!   They also give you a free little tin container to put your soap in if you buy two shampoo bars (hence thinking I would buy one for Eduardo).  The lid of the tin is very handy to use as a soap tray so I have been leaving my bar on the side of the tub in it.  So far… I like it.

And in case you are interested: LUSH Personal Care Products.  And Mom?  They are also in Canada!  I found one in Pickering Town Centre if you want to check them out.  I don’t know if you would like the shampoo but the soaps look VERY nice.

2 responses to “LUSH Shampoo bar

  1. Cool!  I think I am going to check it out!  🙂

  2. Never tried the bars…I just use the all-natural stuff that comes in plastic bottles and then recycle the bottle. Let us know how you feel about it after a week or so.

Leave a Reply

