Disappointment

Last Friday,  Eduardo was told to call ‘Loco’ to find out where he was working on Monday.  He did and ‘Loco’ told him that he would call him back.  He never did and Eduardo didn’t work this Monday.  He showed up to the office on Tuesday as requested and got assigned to a crew.  He worked a full day on Tuesday, 6 hours on Wednesday and 4 hours on Thursday.  You see a trend?  Today,  he shows up and the manager of the crew tells him he doesn’t need him.  He asked his old manager to call Dave (the guy who hands out assignments)  and Dave apparently wasn’t working today.  He asked around and nobody needed a worker.  He is coming home without work.  Next week,  he will likely be off 2 days for Thanksgiving.  I can hope I am wrong but given the lack of work at the company, it seems likely.   So the sum total of this discussion is that we are down a week’s pay right before the holidays.  This means that I will have to call my Mom and officially tell her that spending extra money right now is just not in the cards.  She actually suggested that maybe with the economy the way it is (we had a nice little layoff at my company too) it might be best to hunker down and sit tight during the economic storm.   I am majorly disappointed as I wanted to go home and see everybody.   Mom had even arranged Christmas such that we would have a chance to see everybody if we came up.   Maybe next year.

Didn’t I tell you that my blog would be full of complaints if I kept writing?  I warned you.

2 responses to “Disappointment

  1. Oh no!  I hope for a change of circumstances before Christmas!
     
    I understand how you feel.  We hadn’t gone "home" for Christmas for the past two years, but it was our choice.  We wanted the kids to have Christmas at their own house, with their own tree.  This year the choice isn’t ours to make and of course I want to go home very badly this year!
     
    Don’t worry about "complaining", you’re just venting and we all need to do that sometimes. 
     
    Hugs, Jen

  2. I’m sorry to hear that. Even though I’m going to see my Pappy in Arizona, it’s definitely caused a money strain on My Prince and I. But some times things have to be done in order to see those who mean the most to us. I’m just lucky enough to pull this off by the skin of my teeth. Financially I might regret it later on down the road but the memories an personally time I’ll have with my Pap will be priceless and I’ll carry with me forever.Hang in there!
    Hugs,~ FC

Leave a Reply

