Another Most Embarrassing Moment

I haven’t had one of these in quite some time but let me tell you what happened last night.

Last night,  Eduardo decided he wanted to head to Shoppers and get some ice cream.  It was a lovely night out and we were going to eat ice cream and play a game on the balcony.  We headed to a Shoppers that I rarely shop at.  The Shoppers that I go to has 5 self-checkouts.  4 self-checkouts are on the same wide aisle.  Two have mini conveyor belts to put your items on and two don’t have anything.  One of each is on each side of the aisle.  This Shoppers has 3 checkouts.  Two checkouts set-up just the other Shoppers and the third checkout has a regular conveyor belt and is on the only checkout on that side.

So I walk up to the wide aisle.  On the left are the double checkouts.  One woman is almost done and would have been done in less than 5 minutes.  To the right is the single checkout.  I swear that I saw TWO poles with lights indicating two checkouts.  The woman on that side is not near what I think is the second checkout.  I walk by her and right up to the checkout and swipe my ice cream.  She makes some sound or does something.  I don’t remember what but I turn my head that way and lo and behold…. she is at the other end of the conveyor belt and NOT at a second checkout.  I turned BRIGHT, BRIGHT RED.  I had literally cut in line in front of this woman and started using the checkout while she was loading her items on the conveyor belt.  I seriously couldn’t have been more embarrassed if I had found out I went to the store without pants on.  She was really super nice about the whole thing and told me to just go ahead because I had a couple of items and already started.  I feel really lucky that I ran into her because she really could have been nasty over what looked like my incredible crassness.   Eduardo said there was no doubt that I was embarrassed because I clearly blushed bright red in embarrassment.  So hopefully that woman realized that I really did make an honest mistake – however stupid that mistake looked.

I still SWEAR that I thought I saw two poles indicating two checkouts.  I don’t know how I couldn’t have noticed that there was only one checkout.  Perhaps it was just habit?

3 responses to “Another Most Embarrassing Moment

  1. I’m glad you had an understanding person. Some times people just think the worst of others without thinking that maybe they are just making a mistake without realizing it.~ FCP.S. Thanks for the comment. You’ll still hear from me… and I’m sure I’ll be back.

  2. Totally understandable! Don’t worry about it, you didn’t do anything mean or deliberately rude. It was nice of her to be gracious about it.Hugs, Jen

  3. LOL! Well, at least she just made a noise and didn’t start screaming at you in the middle of the store–that would have made it worse. I see things like that all the time…I think our brains just expect to see something, so they convey that to our eyes. Oops.

Leave a Reply

