My alarm clock

I looked at the clock… 6:26.  This was exactly the same time that I looked at the clock yesterday and within a few minutes the day before.  I rolled over.  A bit later I looked at the clock again – 7:10.  It was 7:12 yesterday and more or less the same time the day before that.

As I rolled out of bed, I once again pondered the accuracy of my alarm clock.  It was absolutely incredible that I was woken up, without fail, within minutes every day for the last couple of weeks.

And for those of you wondering how an alarm clock could not wake you up at the some moment every morning?  You must be thinking that I actually set my alarm at night and wake up to the sound of my alarm clock beeping.  I don’t.  I wake up to the insistent pestering of my cat, Timmie.   She wants to lick my nose.  Or maybe, she has simply figured out that if she keeps after my nose I will eventually get out of my bed and she will get her breakfast.  I suspect it is breakfast that is motivating her more than the desire to snuggle up close to me.

And although I don’t like Timmie trying to lick my nose while I am sleeping… it is far more pleasant to wake up to her persistent ministrations than it is to wake up to the beeping of my alarm clock.

Leave a Reply

