What am I up to these days?

Losing weight. 

It has taken 7 weeks but I have lost 4 lbs on my "No Plastic" Challenge.   I am eating a much wider variety of vegetables since the fresh food at the Farmer’s Market is tempting.  I am also branching out in trying new recipes.  This seems to be a win-win in my mind.  I don’t know if the "No Plastic Challenge is causing the weight loss or stepping up my trips to the gym. 

No Plastic Challenge

This is a bit mind boggling.  With some considerable effort, I have reduced the amount of plastic that my food is in.  Despite this,  I am still using about 15 pieces of plastic every week.  This is turning into some 800 pieces of plastic a year.  Just in food alone!  You can not escape plastic in this modern day world.  So how will I do on my No Plastic Challenge when I travel for work next week?

Little Projects

I am trying to clean/declutter my place.  I can’t do much about Eduardo and the kids other than to ask them to keep their stuff picked up.  But little by little, I am gradually tackling areas and getting them cleaned up and then keeping them clean.  I have cleaned up the dining room, kitchen, linen closet, part of the laundry room and part of the bedroom.  The house is starting to look like slobs don’t live here.  Not getting any help in this area so it is going slowly.  I am also getting rid of what I can.  I am also doing special projects like deep cleaning of the soap scum off the tiles and the rust crap on my toilet.   I don’t even know what it is but is sure is glued onto the toilet.   It takes forever to get small bits of it pried off the porcelain.

Therapy

Anyone who knows me is going to be a bit surprised by this but I am doing some therapy (by myself) to try to deal with the fact that our relationship is making me unhappy.  Eduardo refuses to go.  It is unfortunate as we are discussing the things I want to get discussed as opposed to necessarily working on what is good for the relationship.  In other words, I am discussing what is best for me and not what is best for both of us.  So what is one of the things we are discussing?  Anger Management.  I kid you not.  I have never had issues with anger before.  I am not a very angry person.  Can I get angry?  Absolutely.  But have I had a problem with anger so badly that I felt it was impacting my health?  Not even close.  So I am trying to learn how to be indifferent about the things that are going on in our relationship.   Indifference does not mean that I intend on being a doormat for the rest of my life.  But indifference is necessary for me to function while I sort things out.  Eduardo is certainly being more attentive to our relationship since I started going but as he said to me once long ago "Its the little things that show your true self" and it is still the little things that show his priorities are most likely elsewhere.  This new attentiveness is confusing the issue and really makes me sad.   Why couldn’t he have been like this for the last 18 months?

Business Travel

I am heading to Portland, OR next week to help a customer with some troubleshooting.   I have never been to the NorthWest so I am looking forward to that.  I suspect I won’t see much as I will probaby be up super early in the morning and in bed shortly after supper.  I don’t like changing my schedule and try to keep on the same time zone that I normally live on.  It just seems so much easier to do that than try to switch back when I return.

One response to “What am I up to these days?

  1. the plastic challenge is really interesting! I like it and may try it out in our family. I wonder if it will impact the rest of your health beyond weight. Also, sorry to hear about your relationship challenges. I hope things work out.

Leave a Reply

