” I need to study”

in response to the question, "Can you help me do…?" or "Do you want to go to…" means:

a. I am going to take a nap.
b. I am going to check out You Tube (or whatever else on the computer)
c. I am going to watch TV or
d.  I am going to study

You might be surprised to know that it does NOT mean that the person is going to study.  It often means that the person is going to do anything but study.  Oh yes, they will get some studying in but they could have done whatever they were questioned about in the length of time that they DIDN’T study after the question was asked.  Or you might not be surprised because I wouldn’t have written about it otherwise.  Nothing worth writing about if the person actually wanders off to do what they said they were going to do.

This frustrates me to no end.  And the answer isn’t always directed to me.  I feel just as frustrated (and sad) when Piero asks for help for something and the response is "I have to study".   If you have to study… THEN STUDY!  Don’t make your child wonder why you aren’t doing what you said you were going to do and yet not helping him either. 

One response to “” I need to study”

  1. I’m sorry you’re put into this difficult situation. ((Hugs))~ FC

Leave a Reply

