Results of No Plastic Challenge

I have been on this No Plastic Challenge now for 11 weeks.  It is hard to believe that it has been going on for so long.

Results: 7lb weight loss

Conclusions?

  • Plastic is freaking everywhere!  It is just about impossible to eat without touching plastic especially if you want to eat for a reasonable amount of money.  Yes, I can buy pasta with no plastic involved but I am paying 4.30$ for the equivalent of a box rather than 99 cents.  Not reasonable so I am not doing it.
  • I was consuming about 16 pieces of plastic on average over the first 8 weeks.  This is old plastic that I already had and can reasonably replace it with no plastic or is plastic that I am not willing to give up.  I will have to see if my second 8 weeks has a smaller average.  This really does translate into a shocking amount of plastic in a year despite my efforts.
  • I have completely changed the way I eat.  I eat significantly more vegetables because they are available plastic free.  I wasn’t a huge meat eater to begin with and even less of one now.  Those styrofoam packages really add on the plastic weight – esp. the beef ones.  Before I started this challenge, I really was eating quite a bit of junk food and having a hard time keeping away from it. For weeks after I started the challenge (8 or 9), I would continually find myself roaming around in the kitchen looking for ‘something’  I am fairly certain that something was junk food that didn’t come in plastic.  It wasn’t until I went on my business trip to Portland and got myself out of my normal environment that I have noticed that my roaming is completely done.  When I go into the kitchen, I have a goal – get X.  X might be a piece of fruit or crackers and cheese but it clearly has nothing to do with junk food.  Not only that, I don’t have any cravings for chocolate, chips or pretzels.  I look at them and think – ah… not really.

This plastic challenge is tough but it makes me think about my food choices and clearly it is finally translating into lost weight.

Leave a Reply

