How to lose a year of your life

I was talking on the phone to Mom the other night and we mentioned my upcoming birthday.  I mentioned I was turning 41.  She corrected me and told me that no… I was turning 42.  After some conversation it became apparent that I was indeed turning 42 on my next birthday.  Wow!  I actually felt sorrow that I had just lost a year of my life. For me 42 is a fairly significant year.  It was the year that would signify the end of my childbearing years.  If I didn’t have a child by 42, I wouldn’t have a child.  I am not 100% sure how I feel about this as I have been the fence about children for most of my adult life.  I felt some loss to be sure but not so much loss that it made it clear that I had missed out on something that I desperately wanted.
One response to “How to lose a year of your life

Leave a Reply

