Insensitive much?

This weekend, the kids wanted me to see the Christmas tree that the family had put up. This wasn’t really on my list of things to do so I told the kids I would see it some other time. When Eduardo and I were out of earshot of the kids, I told Eduardo that I was not interested in coming into the house until at least after Christmas. I said it nicely and gave no explanation why. He immediately shot back with some anger… What? I can’t put up a Christmas tree and get on with my life? Unfortunately, I also responded in anger and said that he had the family and I was left with nothing so I didn’t think it was unreasonable to think I might be a little sad about that and not want to be continually reminded of that fact. He simply stared at me angrily and I stared back angrily. I am sure we were angry for different reasons. Hard to believe but I was actually a bit surprised at his lack of sensitivity. Or maybe I shouldn’t be. This isn’t the first time he has reacted in anger when I expressed my feelings (sadness or anger) about how things have turned out. What person wouldn’t get upset to have their spouse leave you to go live with someone else?

One response to “Insensitive much?

  1. I have to say that I’ve been a lurker for awhile (I think I found your blog because of another blog I was following) and I have to say that your ex is a true narcissistic ass. To not understand why you wouldn’t want to constantly come into this other house after everything that you did for him, his kids, and even his ex is absolutely heartless. I know that you have become close to the kids, but to save your sanity and to help you move on you really need to quietly start distancing yourself (I can say this from experience). Good luck and I wish you the best.

Leave a Reply

