Friends? Maybe not…

I met Gil when I started working at my current position. We got along great as co-workers and I rather randomly kept in touch with him after he left. I didn’t talk to him too much because his girlfriend was very possessive and I didn’t want our friendship to cause any problems.

I found out that Gil and his girlfriend separated right after it all ended with Eduardo. I invited him to go see a movie a couple of times but nothing ever came of it and I still kept in touch with him sporadically. Last Sunday, after not speaking to him for a month? 2 months? I called him up to find out what was going on in his life and we talked for like 2 or 3 hours. During this phone call, he made it clear that he would like to see me and he was interested in turning the friendship into more. Initially, I wasn’t sure about that but he said several things that made me think that he had changed over the last couple of years and that perhaps we were more suitable than I thought we would be. Anyways, I agreed to see him on Tuesday after work.

So Tuesday at 7ish rolled around and no Gil was at my doorstep. 8ish rolled around and I finally ate because I was hungry. At 8:15 he called me to say that a breakfast was arranged at work for the following morning so had to go grocery shopping. Now that he was finished that, he wasn’t going back out. He was sorry but we wouldn’t be seeing each other after all. I was disappointed and completely thrown off my game by this announcement. We continued talking a bit more and he ended the phone call by saying he would call back in a few minutes. This is now the following Monday and I still haven’t heard from him. I tried calling on Thursday to see what was up but went to VM. I didn’t bother to leave a message.

Being treated like this by a friend has completely thrown me for the last week. I have put up with being ignored, being logged off in the middle of an IM and having an email conversation suddenly end when I suggest meeting. These are complete strangers so what do I care if they are rude. I have nothing invested in that relationship except for a couple of hours of my time. But to have a friend blow me off? That just isn’t what you expect a friend to do. I guess if friends do that…. you have to expect dating to be fraught with rudeness and lack of consideration. Which it has been but that is another post.

One response to “Friends? Maybe not…

  1. Hi Billie,
    In response to your last post about moving on. I’m not sure if you have completely moved on, but I think you are doing it one step at a time. I would suggest you do it at the pace you feel most comfortable with.

    As to this new post about your old/new friend. Friends don’t do that. He sounds like a self-obsessed kind of guy who doesn’t really take into account others feelings (I may be reading way too much into it, but from the little you said that’s how I took him). Please run away now! Do you really want another guy in your life like that? You deserve so much better, especially after what you’ve recently been through.

    Hang in there girl! Someone fabulous is going to come along and sweep you off your feet and treat you like you deserve to be treated.

Leave a Reply

